I often attend children’s movies, as I’m just a big kid at heart. I, like I’m sure most of you do, was watching the trivia and local advertisements in excitement of seeing the newest movie. Between being annoyed with the ad interruptions and bored by the trivia that was repeating, I was sorely tempted to return to the concessions to purchase a medium popcorn or large candy when the lights dimmed and my hunger was quickly forgotten. I was immediately drawn into the preview of the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children movie. I hadn’t heard of the book series at that point and still to this day haven’t seen the movie. But, I did feel the immediate urge to rush out and buy a copy of the book. As I wasn’t about to leave the theater to run to the nearest bookstore, I quickly pulled my phone out of my pocket and made a note to locate the book after the movie. While the movie was wonderful great, this review is all about that fabulous book.

I purchased the book through Amazon.com before I even made it back home. While that may seem like quite some time for most, I lived at most two miles from the theater. Two days later a knock on my door was my invitation to this wonderful story Ransom Riggs created.

Set in modern day, a young man loses his grandfather and sets out on an adventure of understanding. He traipses through the unknown to connect with his grandfather and finds himself in the process. He travels through a time loop, meets peculiar children of all ages with very unique and diverse abilities or features. He is hunted and sought after by the same creatures that killed his grandfather and unbeknownst to him leads them right to his new friends. What ensues thereafter is even more creative and full of adventure.

This is one of the most unique and well-written books I’ve read in a long time. It is well worth the money spent to be sucked into this magical story filled with wonderful characters full of warmth and depth. Five stars from this reviewer!

