Anyone else having trouble accomplishing anything this holiday season? I think this is the first time I’ve been able to sit down at my computer for a week. A week! Between Christmas shopping, entertaining kids that are out of school, traveling to and from family and friends, and still trying to maintain a clean house, I consider myself lucky to remember how to use a keyboard.

I have seen enough of malls to last me until next holiday season, I’m sure. In fact, I might just order everyone’s gifts next year. It’s a whole lot easier, less hectic, and opens up more time to spend time with loved ones and the ever important demand we writer’s face, get our butts in the chair and write!

That can be a challenge any time of year with kids, family activities, and daily household chores, but it is even more of a struggle during these hectic holidays. And yet, we trudge on. We persevere. Why? We have no choice. The voices in my head become progressively louder until I give them their own voice on paper. Sometimes a well-doctored rant can also relieve some of the stress that accompanies this time of year and allows us to focus on what matters.

Love. Family. Friends. Togetherness.

A lot of people forget that with today’s constant rush and commercialized holidays, but that is indeed what Christmas is all about, spending quality time with our loved ones, treasuring the little things, and savoring the moment. That’s exactly what I intend to do.

Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays! Happy writing!

 

(cover image courtesy of: Christmas Timer)

