I was enjoying the Sunday paper, which I realize very few people even pick up nowadays much less read. I mainly have the paper delivered for the Sudoku High-Fives and Cryptoquips, myself. Though, I still briefly skim through the sections and read articles that catch my eye. So you could have considered me surprised when I skimmed the other sections of the paper and deciding after only a scant two or three articles that I was mainly disinterested, I found a blurb right next to my weekly Sudoku puzzle. The headline, “Museums on writers, vehicles, US wars will interest families” immediately caught my eye like nothing else had in the paper and I tossed my Sudoku aside for my later amusement. I had never heard of a museum for writers and knew at once that I had to read more.

paper-museum

At first glance, I was disappointed to see that the bit was only a paragraph long and thereby only granting a few precious inches to what I considered a momentous occasion. Then when I read those wonderous words I was even more disappointed. It only left me wanting more. It taunted and teased me with the information that there has never been a museum of this kind. This museum, unopened as of yet, will applaud our history and cultural influences as writers as a profession, highlight influential writers throughout the ages, and bring interest and life to writing through games and interactive exhibits. I began to drool only to find myself at the end of the paragraph. I read the paragraph over. And again. I saw, at last, it had a website for the museum at the top and my thirst was quenched, temporarily. My hunger abated and I instantly grabbed my laptop to slake my need.

After clicking relentlessly and scouring through every page on their site, I’m even more excited and planning a weekend adventure for my family to Chicago.

The section of the article I found in the Columbus Dispatch, originally of The Dallas Morning News by Lynn O’Rourke Hayes:

“American Writers Museum

CHICAGO (AMERICANWRITERSMUSEUM.ORG)

Debuting in May, this first-of-its-kind-in-the-U.S. museum will shine a light on American writers and their influence on our history, culture and daily lives. Learn about the professional and personal practices of scribes including Mark Twain, Dr. Seuss and John Steinbeck. Exhibits decode the writing life and spur the creativity of budding wordsmiths through games and immersive opportunities. Also expect permanent exhibits, a kids gallery, films and readings for every age group.”

